GLP-1 Telehealth Prescribing Rules by State (2026)

Semaglutide, tirzepatide, and liraglutide are not controlled substances, so no federal rule requires an in-person visit before you prescribe them over telehealth. What governs instead is state law: each state’s telehealth standard of care, the license you need where the patient is sitting, and, for shipped product, the nonresident pharmacy registration of whoever dispenses it. Of the 14 states we verified against primary sources, 2 (Mississippi, New Jersey) require a real-time encounter for a non-controlled drug and a third (Georgia) requires a prior personal exam or an exam by technology equal or superior to one, 5 (Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Mississippi, New Jersey) reject prescribing on a questionnaire or electronic consultation alone, and none requires an in-person exam up front for a non-controlled GLP-1.

The pages that rank for this question are mostly telehealth vendor blogs, and they conflict. One widely copied page claims California, Texas, and Florida each removed an in-person requirement in early 2026 and now mandate audio-video visits with 90-day follow-ups. We could not confirm any of it from a statute, board rule, or bill record, and the Texas bill number it cites is a truancy bill (details in the “Not verified” section below). This guide works only from primary sources, state by state, with the exact citation next to each claim.

Current as of October 2026.

Can you prescribe a GLP-1 over telehealth without an in-person visit?

In most of the states we checked, yes, provided the evaluation you do remotely meets the same standard of care as an in-person one. The federal baseline explains why: semaglutide, tirzepatide, and liraglutide do not appear on DEA’s alphabetical list of controlled substances (checked October 22, 2026), while phentermine does (Schedule IV). The DEA telemedicine flexibilities and the Ryan Haight in-person rule therefore govern phentermine, not GLP-1s. If you also prescribe phentermine, read our DEA telemedicine rule guide.

That leaves four layers: the state telehealth statute or board rule, the license required where the patient is located, nonresident pharmacy registration for shipped product, and, in one state we found (Florida), a weight-loss-specific rule. The table below sets out the first two layers for each verified state, with controlled-substance triggers noted where they differ.

State Live video required Questionnaire-only allowed In-person ever required License Source
Alabama No (only for controlled substances) Not addressed After more than 4 telehealth visits in 12 months for the same unresolved condition (and for controlled substances) Full Alabama license Ala. Code 34-24-700 to 707
California No Yes, if the standard of care is met No California license Bus. & Prof. Code 2242
Florida No (synchronous or asynchronous both count) Statute allows it; obesity rule evaluation not met by questionnaire alone No express requirement (obesity rule amended August 8, 2022; the Board’s rulemaking notice described the change as allowing telemedicine) Florida license or registration Fla. Stat. 456.47
Georgia Prior personal exam, or exam by equal-or-superior technology No (electronic consultation alone) Diligent efforts annually Georgia license Rule 360-3-.07
Idaho No (modality not specified) No (expressly below standard of care) No Idaho license (limited exemptions) Idaho Code 54-5706
Indiana No (required for controlled substances) No, unless relationship exists No Indiana (deemed practicing there) IC 25-1-9.5 (PLA summary)
Louisiana No (audio-only allowed if the standard of care can be met) Standard of care governs Only for controlled dangerous substances Louisiana license or registration La. R.S. 40:1223.4
Mississippi Real-time interaction required (audio-visual, or audio-only where appropriate) No No, if the technology is sufficient Mississippi license Title 30, Part 2635, Ch. 5
New Jersey Yes (real-time two-way, video generally) No Only Schedule II New Jersey license N.J.A.C. 13:35-6B.6
New York Not addressed Not addressed Only for controlled substances (10 NYCRR 80.63) New York license Pub. Health Law 2999-cc
Ohio No Not addressed; modality-neutral if the in-person standard is met Only if standard cannot be met remotely Ohio license OAC 4731-37-01
South Carolina Not specified Not expressly barred Only when a physical exam is necessary for diagnosis South Carolina license S.C. Code 40-47-37
Texas No Not addressed; store-and-forward needs clinical images or records No Full Texas license Occ. Code 111.005
Virginia Not expressly Images and records can satisfy the exam Only where standard of care requires Virginia license Va. Code 54.1-3303

The sections below give the language behind the entries that need the most explanation.

Which states require a live video visit before prescribing?

Two states in our set require a real-time encounter outright for a non-controlled drug, and a third comes close. Mississippi’s board rules (as last amended February 2026) say store-and-forward technology may be used “to enhance, but never replace, real-time provider-patient interaction,” which may be audio-visual or audio-only where medically appropriate. New Jersey requires “interactive, real-time, two-way communication technologies” that generally include a video component (6B.5(c)); without video, real-time audio plus store-and-forward is allowed only if, after reviewing records, the licensee determines the standard of care can be met as if the service were provided in person.

Georgia does not name a modality: Rule 360-3-.07 (effective September 28, 2020) is satisfied by a prior personal exam by a Georgia-licensed provider or by an exam using technology and peripherals equal or superior to a personal one, so what matters is that the provider has personally examined the patient or can examine by equal-or-superior technology, not which modality carries the visit.

Elsewhere the rule is modality-neutral. Texas lists synchronous audiovisual interaction, asynchronous store-and-forward, or another audiovisual technology that lets the practitioner meet the standard of care, and Ohio allows synchronous or asynchronous technology during an initial visit (ORC 4743.09, effective April 9, 2025) if the in-person standard is met.

Which states ban questionnaire-only prescribing?

Five states in our set address the questionnaire, or the electronic-only consultation, directly, and they do not agree.

California goes the other way. Bus. & Prof. Code 2242(a) says an appropriate prior examination “does not require a synchronous interaction” and can be achieved through telehealth “including, but not limited to, a self-screening tool or a questionnaire,” as long as the licensee complies with the standard of care. The exposure is on the other side of the line: Bus. & Prof. Code 2242.1 bars prescribing dangerous drugs on the Internet for delivery in California without an appropriate prior examination and medical indication, with a fine or civil penalty of up to $25,000 per occurrence.

Florida needs its own paragraph. Fla. Stat. 456.47 counts synchronous or asynchronous telecommunications as telehealth and says a provider whose evaluation is sufficient to diagnose and treat is not required to conduct a physical examination first. But the weight-loss rule, Rule 64B8-9.012 (last amended August 8, 2022), requires an initial evaluation that includes a “physical and complete history,” tests related to medical treatment for weight loss, referrals “as indicated by the physical examination, history, and testing,” written informed consent, and re-evaluation at least once every 3 months. A questionnaire alone will not satisfy those elements. The Board’s 2022 rulemaking notice described the amendment as one that “allows for the use of telemedicine for such prescribing,” but the adopted text still refers to a physical examination, so document what examination the technology actually delivered.

Which states ever require an in-person exam?

For a non-controlled GLP-1, none of the 14 requires one before the first prescription. Several have triggers later or in narrower circumstances:

Do you need a license in the patient’s state?

Yes, in every state in the table, and the location that counts is the patient’s. Georgia requires that all treatment and consultations be done by Georgia-licensed practitioners; Ohio’s rule requires the provider to verify the patient’s physical location in Ohio; South Carolina requires a South Carolina license with narrow exceptions; Louisiana requires licensing or registration of out-of-state providers; Indiana deems a practitioner located elsewhere to be providing health care services in Indiana once a relationship is formed with an Indiana patient; and California makes practicing without a valid certificate a public offense (Bus. & Prof. Code 2052). Mississippi’s rule is explicit: the practice of medicine is deemed to occur in the location of the patient, so only Mississippi-licensed providers may practice telemedicine. Idaho says virtual care is considered rendered at the physical location of the patient, and it reaches providers located outside Idaho.

Texas requires a full license under 22 TAC 175.1 (effective January 9, 2025), and Occ. Code 151.056(a) treats an out-of-state person acting on a Texas patient care service as practicing there.

Exceptions are narrow. Alabama exempts only irregular or infrequent services (fewer than ten days or ten patients in a calendar year), Idaho’s 54-5713 lists limited situations, and Florida offers registration under Fla. Stat. 456.47(4) with an active unencumbered license, no discipline in five years, an in-state agent, and insurance. If you also own the practice through a professional entity, see NP weight loss clinic ownership by state.

Which states regulate out-of-state pharmacies shipping GLP-1s to their residents?

The obligation belongs to the pharmacy, but you choose the pharmacy. Four states in our research have rules worth reading before you pick one: two state a registration mandate (Florida and Montana), one creates a nonresident license class (Texas), and one restricts shipments of compounded product (Colorado).

State What the rule says Source
Colorado Unless otherwise allowed by state and federal law, nonresident prescription drug outlets may not distribute compounded products into Colorado, and those registered in Colorado may ship compounded products only under valid, patient-specific prescription orders 3 CCR 719-1, Rule 21.00.20
Florida A pharmacy outside Florida that ships, mails, or delivers a dispensed medicinal drug into the state is a nonresident pharmacy and must be registered with the board, and must be licensed in its home state Fla. Stat. 465.0156
Montana Each out-of-state mail order pharmacy must be registered (as amended 2025, Ch. 726); registration requires a home-state certificate of good standing, identification of ownership and a pharmacist responsible for Montana shipments, and fees MCA 37-7-703
Texas A Class E (nonresident pharmacy) license may be issued to an out-of-state pharmacy whose primary business is dispensing under prescription drug orders and delivering to patients, including by mail or carrier, processing orders for patients including Texas patients, or other pharmaceutical services defined by board rule Occ. Code 560.051(f)

Ask the compounder or the brand dispensing pharmacy for its registration number in each state you ship to, and keep it in the vendor file. The exposure when product comes from an unlicensed source is real: the Ohio Board of Pharmacy’s settlement agreement in Ree’s Bar of Beauty (Case A-2025-0299, summary suspension September 30, 2025, settled with a $25,000 penalty) involved compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide bought from an unlicensed distributor. Whether compounded product is permissible at all is a separate question, covered in our guide to compounded GLP-1 prescribing rules.

What does the first telehealth visit have to include?

The state rules differ on modality but converge on the elements. Each element below is tied to a rule cited above:

What have boards actually disciplined?

The published board order that fits this fact pattern most exactly comes from Mississippi. In the Corrected Determination and Order in the matter of Laura Purdy, M.D. (May 18, 2023), the Mississippi State Board of Medical Licensure found that the licensee conducted all patient encounters by instant message through a phone application and website and only reviewed questionnaires completed at registration; the complaint that opened the case alleged she had prescribed medications such as Ozempic via telehealth with no audio or video contact. The Board found she failed to establish a valid physician-patient relationship and used a questionnaire in lieu of a physical examination. The three-month suspension was immediately stayed, she completed a CPEP PROBE course, and she was barred from telehealth practice in Mississippi until June 17, 2023.

We searched the Texas Medical Board newsroom and Florida Department of Health sources and found no published order specific to GLP-1 questionnaire prescribing, so we do not claim one exists. Separately, the FDA sent warning letters to 30 telehealth companies on March 3, 2026 over compounded GLP-1 marketing.

Where does the DEA rule still apply?

Only to phentermine. The flexibility under 21 CFR 1307.41 is scheduled to expire at the end of December 31, 2026, and the details are in the DEA guide. State controlled-substance triggers in the table (Alabama, Louisiana, New Jersey, New York, Indiana) sit on top of that federal rule, not in place of it.

Not verified

We could not verify Michigan (MCL 333.16285, where the legislature’s site returned server errors on every attempt), Oklahoma (59 O.S. 478.1, where only bill drafts were retrievable), or Arkansas (17-80-117, where no primary source for the current text was available), so they are left out of the table. Montana appears only in the pharmacy table: MCA 37-3-342 was repealed in 2015, and we did not locate a current medical board standard. We also could not confirm vendor claims of early-2026 changes in California, Texas, and Florida. The Texas bill number those pages cite, HB 2847 in the 89th Regular Session (2025), is captioned “Relating to truancy and parental contribution to nonattendance of school; increasing a criminal penalty” and last moved on March 19, 2025 (fetched October 22, 2026). Florida’s Rule 64B8-9.0141 on telemedicine standards was repealed effective October 14, 2019.

This is a compliance guide, not legal advice. State laws and board rules change, and your counsel and the relevant state boards govern what applies to your practice.


Whether a state wants a video visit, a documented history, or a three-month re-evaluation, the work lands in the chart. PrismEHR gives wellness practices video telehealth, eRx with EPCS, a patient portal, intake forms from the form builder, built-in messaging, and GLP-1 management and progress-visit documentation templates, so the elements above can be captured at each visit. For the compounding side of the same decision, see our guide to compounded GLP-1 prescribing rules.